PDA

View Full Version : Photo shop question

ignatiusjk
19-Jun-2008, 16:17
I'm still getting use to Photoshop and have a question. How do I burn or dodge a specific area of a print? I've been using the highlight and shadow adjustments but need to burn in a small area of a print. Please make it simple like I said I'm new to photoshop.

Ron Marshall
19-Jun-2008, 16:37
New layer, choose Soft-light mode, and check fill with 50% grey.

Paint on this layer, in black to darken, in white to lighten.

butterflydream
19-Jun-2008, 16:47
Or choose burning tool from tool palette, adjust the diameter, range etc and point the circle to area to burn and click. Do it on the new copy of the layer and when finished merge the layers.

Richard M. Coda
19-Jun-2008, 16:52
Ron's way is the preferred method. I actually use two layers - one for burning and one for dodging - as well as a layer underneath those two for spotting.

You can also use a number of techniques to burn specific ranges, like using a Threshold layer to burn only shadows, with any necessary feathering.

Bill L.
19-Jun-2008, 17:25
I will often use a curves layer, lighten/darken to taste for the spot, fill the curves layer mask with black, and use a white/gray brush to bring back the effect where I want it. You can use this approach to "anchor" parts of the curve so they are not affected (e.g. drop the shadow tones, but leave the highlights where they were originally). I have found times when this technique gives a more smooth blending of the dodged/burned areas with the rest of the photo.

Cheers!
Bill

Ben Hopson
19-Jun-2008, 17:30