PDA

View Full Version : partially fogged film ?

ken currie
12-Jun-2008, 21:40
i'm hopeing someone here can tell me what my problem is ...... SOME of my negs are coming out fogged a consistent 3 1/4 inches .... i.e. there is a 5 in by 3/4 strip of normally developed film while the rest is VERY noticably fogged. This has happened in tray processing and tube processing to some, but not all negs in a batch??

I am fairly new to LF but have developed 1000's of MF films in the past and believe that I'm consistent with all steps along the way.

Rather than me continueing to scatch my head over this issue , i'm wondering if i'm missing something obvious, such as bad holders or ????? I DON'T KNOW .... help !!

ken

Darryl Baird
12-Jun-2008, 22:24
it's possible you have bad light traps (aka a bad holder)
--run a test with paper loaded and see if you can reproduce the fog without making any exposures... just put the holder into the camera, leave for a few seconds, remove and replace the dark slide, and process

Questions:
Is the fog nearest to the top (where the slide enters the holder)?
Are the holders easy to get into and out of the camera back?
Are all holders the same type... wood, plastic, etc.?

ken currie
13-Jun-2008, 06:30
the holders are all plastic ....fidelity and lisco.....and look to be in very good condition ... all load into the camera about the same ..... the fogging pattern is exactly the same on all bad negs .. looking at the emulsion side in a vertical postion the fog runs right to left...... meaning the fog is coming from the side of the holder not the top ..... which leads me to ask if it is possible that i'm not seating the holder into the back properly .......would that lead to this problem? ken

Darryl Baird
13-Jun-2008, 06:49
RE: "which leads me to ask if it is possible that i'm not seating the holder into the back properly .......would that lead to this problem?"