PDA

View Full Version : Manfrotto 410 and AS

Ben R
29-Apr-2008, 01:56
Hi,

Can you tell me if you can fit a AS QR head to a Manfrotto 410 head? I am too much in love with AS plates and the QR system to want to abandon it completely but I'm finding the use of a ball head rather more difficult with LF and architecture.

Is the 410 strong enough for 4X5? It's rated for up to 5kg which is not very much, I would be wary with a head like that for my DSLR nevermind 4X5, can anyone tell me what they think?

BennehBoy
29-Apr-2008, 02:12
I use a Sinar P2 4x5 on my 410, it seems to cope just fine, there's some minor flex in the head that may not withstand too much wind - I've yet to see as I'm new to this caper.

Not a clue WRT the AR head though, I think it would have to be attached to the manfrotto QR plate somehow because the top section of the manfrotto head includes a geared movement.

dwhistance
29-Apr-2008, 02:16
The 410 head is fine for 5x4 - lots of well known UK photographers using large format use and recomend it. Using this head with an Arca quick release is a bit of a pain but do-able. You will need to get one of the AS compatible clamps from Really Right Stuff or Kirk (and probably others) to put on top of the 410. Kirk does one specifically for this head which incorporates the Manfrotto quick release plate in its design.

David Whistance

Ben R
29-Apr-2008, 03:39
I have the RRS lever clamp, how would I attach it?

Aender Brepsom
29-Apr-2008, 04:18
You have to attach it to the QR plate that came with your Manfortto head and permanently leave it in place. It does not really add to the stability, but I did a similar thing on the MA 405 and it worked.

Jan Nieuwenhuysen
29-Apr-2008, 04:56