PDA

View Full Version : Help- nothing comes out on my film.

zoom2zoom
16-Apr-2008, 06:22
hi everyone,

please don’t make fun of me, as this is my first time with LF. Anyways, I ordered film, chemicals from Freestyle last week, and they all came in yesterday, so I was excited to be able to do a few test shots last night. And I also tried to develop film using open trays…. But after few tries, all my negatives comes out completely blank, like clear transparencies.. no images no colors….

I tried different speeds, apertures, etc.. I also tried different times for trays, etc.. but no results.

Am I doing this correctly or am I doing something wrong, here is my process.

1. I load the 5x7 film in total darkness, with the notch of the film on the top-right corner and slide the film into the holder, and slide the dark slide in.

2. I set the camera up, focus, then I close the shutter and insert the film holder, pull the dark slide out, then shoot.

3. I put the dark slide back and pull the holder out.

4. time for developing, again total darkness, I have 4 trays – developing, stop, fix, wash. I followed the instructions on the bottle for the correct mixture and temp.

5. I put the film in the developing tray and with my fingers, I flip the film from top to bottom about once every 30 sec.

6. Its in the developer for 5 mins as recommended, then I move it to the stop for 20 sec.

7. then I put it in the fixer for 5 mins, also flipping the film about every 30 secs.

8. afterwards, I turn the light on to move to the wash, but there is no image on the film whatsoever.

It was getting too late by then, so I stopped.

i am using a Agfa Ansco 5x7 View Camera and i used Arista.edu 100 ISO B&W film

Jim Galli
16-Apr-2008, 06:35
First off, "top right" when holding the holder in "portrait" mode, not "landscape"? Next is to stick your face in the back of the camera and trip the shutter a few times. Maybe it's broke and not letting any light in?

MIke Sherck
16-Apr-2008, 06:37