PDA

View Full Version : Mac users: Do you use antivirus software?

Harley Goldman
11-Apr-2008, 14:16
I just took delivery of a new Mac and I was wondering if Mac users feel it necessary to have anti-virus software. I have heard from two schools: one says not necessary as there are no successful Mac viruses; and the other that says the probabilities of infection are low, but there are viruses out there and it worth being protected. As a Mac newbie, I have no idea which one to embrace. Opinions?

If you do use one, which one would your recommend?

Robert Skeoch
11-Apr-2008, 15:23
We don't use them at work at the newspaper.... no issues.
-rob

Walter Calahan
11-Apr-2008, 15:33
No

I added this so the message would be longer, but it doesn't include anymore information.:D

jb7
11-Apr-2008, 15:36
No.

I don't know how necessary it is,
but I don't use any-

j

Ken Lee
11-Apr-2008, 15:51
No.

Not too long ago, I pointed my browser to the Norton Anti Virus site, and took their free diagnostic security test. My 3-year old PowerBook passed with a score of 100%.

I have never spent a penny, nor have I spent even a moment, dealing with security issues on this machine.

How much is that worth ?

Eduardo Aigner
11-Apr-2008, 15:58
No,never.

Bob Salomon
11-Apr-2008, 16:01
Add another no on two Macbook Pros and a Powerbook.

Maretzo
11-Apr-2008, 16:28
I have one because I sometimes use Windows with Parallels Desktop Virtual Machine.:o

Scott Knowles
11-Apr-2008, 17:04
No. I just run the firewall and use Apple's automatic security updates.

bsimison
11-Apr-2008, 17:42
Depends...are you asking in earnest, or are you a virus-writer doing market research? ;)

For the most part, no. Only 1 Mac out of the 6 we run has AV software. If you're interested, that one runs ClamXAV.

Marc Akemann
11-Apr-2008, 20:05
Nope. Since '05 my G5 has only had to keep up with Apple's auto security updates. My router has a firewall, too.

Richard Wall
11-Apr-2008, 21:41
Yes,