PDA

View Full Version : Sekonic L398M question

Navy Moose
27-Mar-2008, 14:34
Hello All,

I am new to the Living Large life and I'm trying to learn everything I can to become successful with LF.

I have owned a Sekonic L398M analog light meter for quite a while and I have the usual array of disks for it. I want to learn Zone System and use it for my black and white work. From my readings, people use spot meters for their ZS readings. I saw a spot meter attachment for my meter at B&H and I'm thinking of purchasing it.

Is this attachment truly useful for this particular meter? If not, will the spot meter mode on my Nikon D200 be sufficient for the readings?

Thank you!

Navy Moose

jotloob
27-Mar-2008, 14:49
Navy

I use the L398A for general metering .
For the ZS i use the MINOLTA spotmeter and I could not think of a better meter for that purpose . Never experienced any problems and the exposures were as expected .
IMHO , a real spotmeter is the best you can have for the ZS metering .

Dan Ingram
27-Mar-2008, 15:16