PDA

View Full Version : Manfrotto 055 X Pro B vs. Feisol CT 3401

Derek Flack
7-Mar-2008, 15:07
Hello All --

Forgive me if this retreads some ground already covered, but I'd like some feedback on possibilities for a good tripod for a Shen Hao 4x5 field camera. In keeping with my price range, I've narrowed it down to the Manfrotto 055 X Pro B and a Feisol CT 3401. I've ascertained that both of these should be suitable for my needs, but wonder if anyone has a recommendation between the two. I know that the Feisol is carbon fiber, but I've been unable to ascertain if this actually dampens vibration or is just lighter. Weight isn't that much of an issue for me as the tripod will often be used near a car. I'm most concerned about reasonable weight and maximum stability afforded in the price range.

I'm also a rank amateur when it comes to heads, so an added recommendation regarding these would be really appreciated. I'd love to get the whole thing in for around 300$ or so. Any thoughts? Other tripods altogether?

Allow me to apologize in advance for how open-ended this thread is...

Eric Biggerstaff
7-Mar-2008, 15:27
Derek,

Any chance of seeing and touching one first hand? That always helps. There are a lot of very happy Feisol users on this forum and many happy Bogen / Manfrotto users as well. Also, check out the Giottos line of tripods, they are a lot of bang for the buck.

Material is a matter of choice and your budget. I have used CF, aluminum and lava and have liked all of them. I currently use a Gitzo CF but have actually thinking of getting a nice Giottos classic aluminum as a back up to my Gitzo CF.

I think the main thing is to set a budget for the pod and head, and stick to it.

There will be A LOT of people who have different needs, different likes and different dislikes so take it all with a grain of salt. But probably either of the two you mention would be fine for what you want to do.