PDA

View Full Version : The illusive 4990 scanner, advice...

trink408
11-Feb-2008, 09:42
I managed to find an Epson 4990 online, can't wait to get it and start scanning!!!

Any advice/suggestions for a beginner with this product?

I will be scanning slides and b&w negs.

Bob McCarthy
11-Feb-2008, 10:39
Epson has v3.0 up on their site. I would strongly suggest you get software, don't know what they've done, but my 4990 grew muscles.

Bob

trink408
11-Feb-2008, 10:58
Epson has v3.0 up on their site. I would strongly suggest you get software, don't know what they've done, but my 4990 grew muscles.

Bob

Thanks for the tip, I will definitely download the new version...

trink408
12-Feb-2008, 06:05
Any good books out there that cover the principles of scanning and the software involved?

I'm new at this stuff and would like to make sure I'm taking advantage of all the available tools for creating great scans...

Thanks

Ted Harris
12-Feb-2008, 08:01
Can't think of any books that cover the software since Epson and Microtek both have proprietary software. Silverfast does have a book you can get from them. The best book on general scaning principles is Real World Scanning and Halftones, make sure you get the latest edition. It is the only book that focuses on scaning as opposed to other aspects of digital workflow.

Of course, you could also come to our Scanning Workshop at Midwest Photo Exchange in Columbus on April 25-27. Send me a PM if you are interested.

D. Bryant
12-Feb-2008, 08:19
Any good books out there that cover the principles of scanning and the software involved?

I'm new at this stuff and would like to make sure I'm taking advantage of all the available tools for creating great scans...

Thanks
You may wish to check out Wayne Fulton's web site:

http://www.scantips.com/

He has a printed book that is a little long in the tooth but it's a good start for beginning scanner users.

Don Bryant

Daniel_Buck
12-Feb-2008, 09:55