PDA

View Full Version : Reduction backs for Arca 8x10s

unprintable
1-Feb-2008, 09:59
Hey guys. I'm a student that's been interested in moving up to large format. So I've been offered an older Arca 8x10 (model C, I think) with a Nikon 150mm lens for a pretty good deal. But I'm not sure I should just move straight up to 8x10, considering things like ease and expense, so I was thinking maybe I'll get it but look into a 4x5 reduction back for it to start....but I can't find any information on such a thing at all. Right now on eBay there's a 4x5 "board" without the back, but that's all I can find about it. Are these things rare/expensive to the point that I shouldn't bother? If that's the case, maybe I'd like just a little reassurance that shooting in 8x10 isn't going to be nearly as draining (expense-wise) as a part of me fears. I'd really love to get the camera as I know one day I will want to shoot 8x10 (hell, I'd love to right now), but I'm worried it's not the smartest short-term option since I'm so poor. Any help would be appreciated.

sethf22
1-Feb-2008, 11:31
Here is a picture of one.

http://i12.ebayimg.com/05/i/000/9b/d2/4991_1.JPG

There is one available for sale on eBay for just over $100.

I also have one available for sale that has been slightly modified to take the newer graflok backs as well as the older Arca backs.

A 4x5 Arca back fits directly onto this reducing plate. I have one of these available for sale as well.

You can see an example of a 4x5 back here:

http://www.largeformatphotography.info/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=7603&d=1196085726

The older Arca 8x10 is a very nice camera all on its own, I highly recommend it.

Seth

unprintable
1-Feb-2008, 12:29
Ah, thanks so much for the information. At least now I know they do exist.

Mark Carstens
1-Feb-2008, 14:29
Welcome to the Forum!