PDA

View Full Version : Safelight filters - 0A vs. 0C?

Scott --
20-Dec-2007, 14:23
Hi, all -

I need to cut some paper that recommends using an 0C safelight filter. I have an 0A filter. Any good for this? How do they compare? I'm new to this stuff... ;)

Thanks,
Scott

rippo
20-Dec-2007, 16:39
i have no idea.

however you could skip the filters and safelight and get this (http://www.theledlight.com/mr-dp.html) instead. it's a red LED light that fits in a standard household light socket.

i bought something similar (which they've discontinued). it's bright, so bright it hurts your eyes to stare at it. but it's such a specific frequency of red, it doesn't fog paper nor ortho film. i've tested it to be sure. the company tells me the link above is for something very similar, but i haven't tested that particular model.

it's priced right too. something to consider.

davidb
20-Dec-2007, 16:44
0C is for multigrade paper

0A is for graded paper and should not be exposed to 0C light.

Michael Gudzinowicz
2-Jan-2008, 17:21
Years ago I ran tests of VC papers with a variety of OC filters and they will fog the papers, though slowly. I covered the OC filters with a sheet of dark red acetate and there was no fogging even when the paper was held against the light for minutes. Instead of a "bright" OC filter, I use several of them covered with acetate. They are also safe for most lith films.

alec4444
2-Jan-2008, 17:41
i have no idea.

however you could skip the filters and safelight and get this (http://www.theledlight.com/mr-dp.html) instead. it's a red LED light that fits in a standard household light socket.

i bought something similar (which they've discontinued). it's bright, so bright it hurts your eyes to stare at it. but it's such a specific frequency of red, it doesn't fog paper nor ortho film. i've tested it to be sure. the company tells me the link above is for something very similar, but i haven't tested that particular model.