PDA

View Full Version : Lens types and effects

denisfraser
17-Dec-2007, 16:36
Hi
I am new to LF and have purchased a 8x10 toyo view with no lenses. I am curious to know what effects the different lens types and manufacturers have on the image. It would seem to be the logical place to start to consider the myriad of variables before considering the film etc. I am looking for a clear crisp sharp images and want to photograph people in natural settings, say outside in rural settings. I want to shoot in black and white and also in colour. Are there any books that cover the subject in detail, I am not really interested in the technical stuff regarding lenses but more the effects.
Best regards
Denis

Jim Galli
17-Dec-2007, 16:51
Hi Denis. Welcome! What you asked is a bottomless pit. Just wade through my site for a few myriad or two. But to get you started I'll tell you that in 8X10, resolution probably isn't going to be your problem. You can buy any modern plasmat type from any of the big 4 modern lens makers and get ultra sharp fine detail. So you may as well buy the cheaper ones. I'd start with searches for Caltar II at Ebay. 300mm or larger. Also any of the old Kodak Commercial lenses are excellent and hold their value sometimes better than the more modern stuff. Now back to your question, within the parameters you set out, there isn't any difference to note.

Walter Calahan
17-Dec-2007, 17:05
For full length portraits outside in a local, I enjoy using a 240mm lens (manufacturers vary - your results may differ - HA). I happen to use a Nikkor.

Pretty much any good modern lens will do.

Just what type of effects are you looking for?

Welcome to the wonderful world of spending, spending, spending.

Mick Noordewier
17-Dec-2007, 17:59