PDA

View Full Version : Do you practice?

Norm Buchanan
17-Dec-2007, 13:17
In my youth I was a serious student of music and hence spent MANY hours practicing my instrument so that when I needed to perform, my "chops" were there at my fingertips. When I moved to the US in 2003 I bought my first camera, a digital Canon (G3) and shot like mad for a year or more (literally 10s of thousands of images taken in the little parks around my apartment) which allowed me to learn about photography and get a feel for it. Since then I have gotten more serious and started learning about different cameras and techniques and started shooting only when inspired. Now I am starting to feel the urge to practice in a more disciplined manner like I used to in my music days. I have pulled out some volumes on portraiture and still life so I can painstakingly reproduce the images as practice. Please tell me I am not the only insane individual out there who does something so mind numbing. Hopefully it'll pay off! I'll post an update down the road.

Mike Boden
17-Dec-2007, 13:30
I don't 'practice' per say...that is, take shots specifically to maintain technique. Instead, I just try to shoot as much as possible, because my memory has a way of forgetting that which I don't do all the time.

On the other hand, if I haven't used a specific camera or technique recently and I plan to use it soon, then I will break it out and quickly refresh my memory.

David A. Goldfarb
17-Dec-2007, 13:40
Sometimes I do when I'm trying to learn a new thing--usually lighting related.

rippo
17-Dec-2007, 13:53
as a fellow musician-turned-shooter, i can relate. i do practice, and like David Goldfarb, it's mostly for lighting. if there's a new technique i'm trying to figure out, then the wife or kids often get subjected to living room portraiture.