PDA

View Full Version : Time to switch from Epson printers?

Norm Buchanan
10-Dec-2007, 10:46
I have been using an Epson R2400 for a couple of years and had no serious complaints until recently - in fact I love the quality. Recently I started printing on heavier cotton-based papers like the Hahnemuhle photo rag and museum etching papers. Feeding these papers is a pain and often takes several attempts before the printer doesn't "jam". I have read that this is a common problem. I have been considering getting a 3800 for a while and now I am having second thoughts. Does the 3800 have this same issue? If so what printer should I be considering? An HP?

Any insight would very helpful.

Thanks,
N.

coops
10-Dec-2007, 10:55
Are you loading the paper manually from the back or using the paper feeder? I had the same issues but started manually feeding the paper and it works fine.

Kirk Gittings
10-Dec-2007, 10:57
The 3800 has a higher quality feed mechanism than the 2400. The Hps seem to be real contenders these days, though there continues to be some complaints about the color gamut from really picky color printers.

photographs42
10-Dec-2007, 10:59
I have printed several thousand book pages on double sided Photo Rag on a 1280 and it is a pain. Every 8 or 10 sheets, I remove the paper and press the paper advance while holding a damp rag against the feed rollers. Then I let it set for a few seconds or feed a scrap page through to pick up any residual moisture.

It’s not a fix, more like a work-a-round, but it works.
Jerome

Ted Harris
10-Dec-2007, 11:12
My choice for a smaller sheet feed printer is the HP B9180. If you want to take the step to a wide format printer then go with the Canon IPF 5100 sheet feed and 17" rolls, 12 inks, 16 bit printing without a RIP.

Lenny Eiger
10-Dec-2007, 11:48