PDA

View Full Version : canvas printing equipment?

tracksource26
14-Nov-2007, 10:47
Hi all

I wonder if anyone can help me, i am looking to set up a canvas printing operation and wondered what equipment i need, i have seen many Large format printers, it seems the epsom 7800 seems a good bet, any suggestions please

also is there some software that is used for large format printing?

i would appreciate all input

thanks in advance

Momentz
20-Nov-2007, 15:45
HI
This is how i make my living, i use an epson 9800 44in wide printer, all my work is prep'd in photoshop cs2 and then sent to the printer, 7800 is just as nice but the size will be limiting, i get quite a lot of of prints bigger than 36in. anything that you print on canvas will need a protective lacquer and the cheapest but also the best is breathingcolor lacquer, i also use there canvas to which is the brillance chromata white, the colours are fantastic once you get the gloss finish on them and there wrapped

hope this helps

Greg Lockrey
20-Nov-2007, 16:01
I second in getting the larger printer. You lose 4" off your dimension for the wrap.

Lenny Eiger
29-Nov-2007, 00:47
Hi all

I wonder if anyone can help me, i am looking to set up a canvas printing operation and wondered what equipment i need, i have seen many Large format printers, it seems the epsom 7800 seems a good bet, any suggestions please

also is there some software that is used for large format printing?

i would appreciate all input

thanks in advance

It depends on what level of operation you want to engage in. If you want a small operation, possibly out of you home or studio, then an Epson might be it. If you want a larger operation, a little more of a real business (not that home businesses aren't real), then a Roland is a better bet. They are a more expensive, but you pay for the quality. They are built to last - and print every day, all day.