PDA

View Full Version : Fading (into oblivion) Apple Display...Now what?

Mark Carstens
8-Nov-2007, 18:18
My formerly faithful Apple 17" display is going kaput (keyboarding from school right now to save myself from the intermittent screen flicker).

I've cut way back on doing color work in favor of the darkroom, but still have an occasional need for a color-calibrated display (I've got an Eye-1 disc/software), but don't see a need to crack open the piggy bank for this purchase.

I thought I might want an Apple 20" Cinema, but upon trying one out at the Apple Store quickly realized that the different aspect ratio compared to the old 17" may be nice for landscape orientation, but su-diddly-ucks for portait view (IMO). The 23" is nice, but it's hard to justify the expense, especially with all the negatives I keep reading in the feedback/review section of the Apple site. One plus -- I'm a teacher and can get a bit of discount on both display and Apple Care (don't laugh -- it's saved my backside on two other purchases).

Sorry for the rambling, nearly incoherent quality of my post, but I'm desperate. Any quick suggestions/feedback would be greatly appreciated. :)

Thanks in advance!

~Mark

Frank Petronio
8-Nov-2007, 18:30
Your brain will adapt! Really, after a day or two you won't notice it. Of course bigger is always better but just like cameras, the wallet is the limiting factor. And I think the 20-inch Apple is pretty sweet myself.

Walter Calahan
8-Nov-2007, 18:41
I'm waiting for Apple to replace their 23" with a larger model. After all the new iMacs have a 24" screen! I want two 24" monitors side by side. Simply can't justify two 30" monitors.

Right now I use a combo of Apple's original 22" monitor with an Apple 17". I understand why you like the 17" screen. The color and brilliance of the 22" monitor is crap compared to the new 23" screens.

Apple Care saved my 15" laptop twice from having to pay for a new motherboard. A good investment.