PDA

View Full Version : Good, sharp, cheapish portrait lens, for 4x5 crown graphic

Bobby Ironsights
24-Sep-2007, 21:14
So, I've got my crown graphic, and find the lens is not as nice I'd like. I'd really like to take advantage of the format, and do pictures of people.

I particularly like taking black and white photographs of the elderly. (who knows why?) Anyway, I know that there is an inverse relationship between money and quality in a lens, but I'm a university student.....in a wheelchair.....so, what might be considered affordable for a person who's fully employed is unattainable for me.

However, I'm a man of simple needs, and budget well, so I think if I stretched it, and I thought a lens would definitely last me for several years, I could see saving 400 or 500 dollars over a period of 6 months or so.

Still, I'd really rather keep it under $250, if that's a possibility. I'm also into target shooting and rifles and ammo add up.

Any suggestions?

Wayne R. Scott
24-Sep-2007, 21:34
Cheap and sharp? My vote would go to the Kodak Ektar 203mm.

Wayne

Skorzen
24-Sep-2007, 21:36
Ektar 203mm 7.7?

Edit: Wayne beat me to the punch there

lenser
24-Sep-2007, 21:50
HI, Bobby.

I am guessing that you have discovered the delight of ebay. If not, that may be your best source for savings on large format lenses.

You don't mention whether you are after extreme sharpness or a softer look, but since I enjoy using both, I'll dare to offer a couple of suggestions.

First of all, if you are doing fairly close images such as head shots, you will likely want a longer lens as the normal range (135mm to 180mm) may give you a bit of distortion in the face.