PDA

View Full Version : Wet Mounting

Rob Landry
24-Aug-2007, 22:05
I know a lot of you guys wet mount but does anyone have any idea how these mounting fluids will affect the archival stability of the film? Have any studies been done by Kodak or Fuji? From what I've heard, Kami is basically lighter fluid which would mean it's a petroleum product or did I hear wrong?

Daniel_Buck
24-Aug-2007, 22:23
I've often wonder about wet mount scanning myself. Can any fluid be used, like say even just water? Or is there something about the particular 'mounting fluid' that works better than water? I've never done any wet-mount scanning before, but I'd like to try it.

r.e.
24-Aug-2007, 22:34
Daniel,

I can tell you from personal experience that water and water-based products, such as glycerine, will not work unless you want to experiment with the effect of softening of emulsions. I do experiment with that, so it is fine with me, but I wouldn't recommend it otherwise.

I can also tell you (although it may well result in dire warnings from people who have particular views on fire hazards) that Ronson lighter fluid works just fine. It takes only a few drops. Just mount the negative away from the scanner to avoid any possibility (remote as it is) of some kind of electrical reaction. The reality is, using lighter fluid to do fluid mounting is a lot like using it to reveal the watermarks in postage stamps, a practice that is very old. That said, I know that there are people on this site who will go ballistic at what I have just said,, firmly believing that using lighter fluid may cause some kind of conflagration. The manufacturers of commercial scanning fluids say that they are non-flammable. It's not at all clear to me whether they are more archival. The one thing that is clear is that they are a lot more expensive.