PDA

View Full Version : Options for 6x17 backs on 5x7 cameras?

Michael Mutmansky
14-Aug-2007, 07:54
Folks,

I'm looking around to find out what my options are for 6x17 backs that will fit 5x7 cameras. I'm not interested in the 4x5--->617 adapter backs as these pose too many compromises for what I would like to do.

I'm aware of the Canham, the Horseman and the Shen Hao backs. Are there any other options out there?

I'm familiar with the operation of the Canham, and use similar 6x9 Horseman backs so those should be no surprise. I have no experience with the Shen Hao or similar backs, but I have used red-window film advance in the past, so that should not be a problem. Are there any users of the Shen Hao out there that can specifically address what they like or dislike about the back?

Thanks,

---Michael

Nick_3536
14-Aug-2007, 08:27
I just got the SPC617 with my Shen 8x10. I haven't had it long enough to have any dislikes or likes really. The red window is lighter then my older 612 back. I did a worst case test with some 120 film that has black backing paper. I managed to load it just fine. I can't really do that with the 612 back. With more common 120 film I'm thinking loading etc will be even easier.

Is there any thing in particular you want me to check?

Michael Mutmansky
14-Aug-2007, 08:38
Nick,

I guess I'm interested in whether the light trap works properly, and whether the body is made well enough to avoid light leaks anywhere along the seams. If I were testing the back, I'd place it in the direct sun at different angles to see if it gets any penetration into the film. Especially when the darkslide is pulled.

That's the rigorous kind of test that would tell me how much the back needs to be babied to avoid leaks. If the Shen Hao back is a well designed back, it won't show any problems under normal operation. I can live with some cosmetic issues, but functional issues would be a problem for me. That would eliminate it from consideration.

---Michael