PDA

View Full Version : A guide to antique and barrel lens

Hollis
13-May-2007, 22:27
Hello all. I am fairly new to the whole barrel lens game and I am looking for some information regarding said lenses. My head is filled with words like symmar and goerz and scovill and anastigmant etc. etc. I was wondering if anyone knows of a book or a website that details all the ins and outs of these great lenses.

Please, let me know.

H.B.

Ole Tjugen
13-May-2007, 23:02
I don't know of any one book, website or similar that is detailed enough.

There's "The Lens Collector's Vade Mecum", sold on CD, which contains a lot of information. Sadly it's incomplete, occasionally incorrect, often infuriating, and always indispensable.

And "A History of the Photographic Lens", by Robert Kingslake.

And "das Auge meiner Kamera" by dr. Helmut Neumann (if you read German).

I also have "Photographisches Hilfsbuch für ernste Arbeit" by Hans Schmidt, which provides a thorough discussion of everything available in Germany in 1910.

http://www.cameraeccentric.com/index.html has lots of scanned catalogues of old lenses.

And all the information buried in the dicussions on this very forum...

John Schneider
13-May-2007, 23:20
Henney and Dudley's Handbook of Photography is IMO even more detailed than Kingslake, albeit of an earlier era (1939).

Neil Purling
14-May-2007, 00:34
If you are looking at barrel lenses do you therefore have a Speed Graphic or a Packard shutter affixed to the lens panel of your camera. You can get modern lenses like G-Clarons in barrel too. I have had a 150 and 210mm re-mounted in shutters.
A re-mount can come expensive when the cells of a old optic require special spacers to fit into a new shutter.
I have got some barrel lenses. I ought to look at Packard shutters, particularly for my Petzval.

Uli Mayer
14-May-2007, 03:07
Indispensible, but only covering German lenses (a wide field):

Where I look first:
Hartmut Thiele: DEUTSCHE PHOTOOPTIK VON A - Z, Munich 3rd ed. 2007