PDA

View Full Version : Ebony SV45Ti

JPlomley
31-Mar-2007, 06:30
Hello everyone. I am a newbie to LF having shot 35mm and Mamiya 6x7 for the last 15 years. I dipped my toes into full frame digital for about six months and got out of that water quickly. I've been perusing this forum for some time gathering as much information as possible. I have digested as much as I can from Leslie Strobel's and Steve Simmon's excellent books and am about to put my money down on an Ebony SV45Ti as I feel this camera has all the movements I will ever require for landscape photography. I will continue to shoot chromes and eagerly await the rebirth of Velvia 50 this spring/summer. Lens selection is proving difficult. Many 4x5 landscape photographers I have spoken with swear by German glass, while others claim it is very difficult to see a difference between the big four when your at this level. I guess this is just something I will need to sort out by trial and error, but I am digressing from my question which is very simple. Does the SV45Ti have a scale on the bed in order to determine focus spread? I cannot tell from the images that Ebony has posted on their website. As well, just how useful is the Rodenstock DOF calculator? If you have nailed your focus plane, computed the focus spread, set the focus point to the median, and calculated the f-stop for a given coc, is this tool really necessary? Thanks in advance for all responses and for a top drawer forum.

Ed Richards
31-Mar-2007, 06:53
You can always tape a small rule to the bed, if this is the camera you really want. I am in the "any modern lens is good enough" camp, with the caveat that some old ones are pretty good too. Even with chromes, any variablity in color between makes and lenses gets corrected in the scanning.

Jack Flesher
31-Mar-2007, 07:44
My .02: