PDA

View Full Version : 65 or 75 mm

ric
11-Mar-2007, 04:21
Hi to everybody

I'm looking for a 65 or 75mm, I prefer the 65mm, lens for 4x5" format.

Do you have some advices for me? I'm a newbie in the LF world :D

Hello/Ciao, ric

Walter Calahan
11-Mar-2007, 04:55
See if you can look through both lenses on a camera to see which works with your way of seeing. Only you will know which fits your vision.

Me, I own both.

Henry Dove
11-Mar-2007, 04:58
Ciao Ric!

Much depends on what else you are using and your personal vision. I prefer a 65mm as it makes a good change from my 90mm, and although it doesn't give a lot of movement on 5x4, I still like its angle of view which matches what I used to get from various 19/20/21 lenses in 35mm to go with a 28mm. A 24mm didn't really fit in with my 35mm lens bag, and so a 75mm doesn't really fit my perspective now. Kind regards,

Henry

Leonard Evens
11-Mar-2007, 06:00
Make sure, particularly with a 65 mm lens, that it is designed to cover 4 x 5. Some very short focal length lenses are designed for 6 x 9.

I have a 75 mm lens, and I don't really see any need to go shorter than that. One problem with very short focal length lenses is that, depending on the subject, you may end up with a lot of empty space in the foreground. A typical example would be in photographing a building facade where you can't get far enough back from it. Without a rise, you may find that one third to half the view is taken up with the pavement in front of the building. Without adequate rise, you can't correct for that. In such a circumstance, if you work digitally, you may be better off with several views using a longer lens and stitching digitally.

Steven Barall
11-Mar-2007, 06:40
I think Ric wants to know about individual lenses available from the different manufacturers as far as which ones should be considered and why etc...

I really don't know anything about those focal lengths or I would gladly chime in.

Ed Richards
11-Mar-2007, 07:28