PDA

View Full Version : Gundlach RADAR Anastigmat

Muggs
26-Jan-2007, 11:16
Hello All,

This is my first post. I have been involved in Photography since about 1970 when, through a friend I developed my first roll of Kodak B&W Instamatic film. About 1980 I acquired an old 4X5 Graflex, and after falling head over heels inn love with LF, I purchased a Wista DX and "we" are very happy. I have however been out of photography for about 5 or 6 years due mostly to kids growing up and the like. Anyway...
All that for some background (if anyone cares!).

I was recently given an old 8X10 camera with a Gundlach 12" RADAR f:4.5 lens with a Wollensak BETAX No. 5 shutter.
Everything seems to work fine, but I have two questions:
1. What are the collective opinions of this lens for landscape work?
2. Is there a Copal shutter that would fit if I ever decide to upgrade the shutter?

Thanks,
Muggs

Ole Tjugen
26-Jan-2007, 11:56
I have no knowledge of the Radar specifically, but I do know that there is no modern shutter large enough to take a 12" f:4.5 lens without an expensive custom mount and a significant loss of speed. Betax or Compound #5 are about the only possibilities.

Walter Calahan
26-Jan-2007, 12:01
I think you need to go out and shoot some landscapes to report back to us how the lens is!

Scott Davis
26-Jan-2007, 14:11
That lens is probably better for portrait work than landscape (given the relatively fast speed of F4.5). That doesn't mean it is a bad landscape lens. Shoot a few sheets and see what you get. To borrow a phrase from Pirates of the Caribbean, "the (LF) Code isn't so much a Code as it is a set of guidelines...". Use the lens for what you want, and make the best images you can with it. You may find you like the "deficiencies" it has for one type of work in the way you do something else.

CP Goerz
27-Jan-2007, 01:06
Radar=Tessar, upgrading can take place but only if you buy a Goerz Dagor. ;-)

CP Goerz

Ole Tjugen
27-Jan-2007, 07:01