PDA

View Full Version : Film is hear, back is ready, what else?

Vick Ko
8-Sep-2006, 03:44
Hello all
I'm a newbie, but after patiently waiting, my Fuji quickload film is here, I've bought a Polaroid 545i back, and I'm ready to shoot. There's lots of buildings around, and the mornings are looking stunning as autumn sets in.

Is there anything that I should keep in mind before I shoot my first 4x5 film?

I've been reading all the "mistakes with LF" postings with intense interest.

Will the Polaroid back work well with the Fuji quickloads? My web search indicates "probably yes".

Should I hold out and buy a real Fuji back for the quickloads?

Thanks all.

Vick

Ed Richards
8-Sep-2006, 04:33
Make a check list of what you need to do, and run down it for each shot until it is second nature. Record your settings for each shot before you take it - that acts as a check on whether you have actually made the settings. My favorite is to forget to put the filter back on after I focus. Hold off on the Fuji back, you might decide you want to use Kodak readloads and Tmax, and then use Tmax in holders in the long term.

Also remember that this is supposed to be fun.:-)

Ted Harris
8-Sep-2006, 04:46
Vick, Polaroid sheet film, Kodak Readyloads and Fuji Quickloads all work fine in a Polaroid holder. Beyond that both Kodak Readyloads and Fuji Quickloads work reliably in the latest single sheet Kodak Readyload holder but only Fuji Quickloads work reliably in the Fuji Quicklod holder.

Go out and expose some film and enjoy.

Ole Tjugen
8-Sep-2006, 05:06
The great thing about that "mistakes" list is not that it tells you what to avoid doing, but the comfort it brings when you have done a stupid mistake and discover that just about everyone else has done it, too.