PDA

View Full Version : Medium size ball heads: RRS/Kirk/Markins

QT Luong
18-Jul-2006, 13:53
I have been using an Acratech for a couple of years. At the time the Acratech was released, it was quite unique in its support/weight ratio. However I am not that pleased with it, because of the limited tilt in one direction, the lack for real friction control, and the fact that it takes a lot of force to fully lock. On a number of occasions, I have had camera flops when I though (mistakenly) that the set-up was locked.

I have noticed that there are now at least 3 alternatives, the RRS 40, Kirk BH3, and Markins. From my research so far, here are the drawbacks I see for each:

- RRS: smaller ball diameter, pan and main knobs are on opposite sides (does that make it more difficult to operate with one hand ?)
- Kirk: heavier, not much of a progressive tension control
- Markins: some complaints of it becoming sticky in cold weather

Any experiences ? The ball head would be used both with a Canon series 1 and up to 400/5.6, and a Canham 5x7 on a Gitzo 1227. I also have a 1325 with the Arca. Price and original clamp are not a deciding factor.

PS: I noticed that Acratech came up with a new design that addresses limitations of their original head, but at that point I'd rather try something else

M Salhuana
18-Jul-2006, 14:00
QT,

I own the Markins M20 which I have on a Gitzo. I live in Arizona so I have not had it below 50 degrees fahrenheit. I have used this ball head with a Nikon D200 with 70-200 VR lens, Arca swiss 4x5 and and Arca Swiss 8x10 and have never had a problem with it. I am delighted with this ball head and it has performed as advertised in all situations I have put it in. Hope this helps.

Regards,

Miguel

Dave_B
18-Jul-2006, 14:01