PDA

View Full Version : Gear management in difficult terrains

Timothy So
2-Jul-2006, 01:21
Hi everyone, I'm just starting out in LF photography and is interested to do landscape.
I like to hear from you about gear management in "difficult" terrains, specifically thinking of places where one cannot put the gear bag down e.g. in a stream, at the wave front by the beach, on a sand dune where the ground temperature may be more than 104 deg F...etc. Where do you put your bag safely and yet have access to gear (e.g. lens, filters) and films/film holders,etc? I'm thinking of hanging my nature trekker from the tripod hook. But because I have removed the center column from my Gitzo 1257 and replaced it with a Markins base, the hook is very high up. Perhaps I need an extension cord in this situation. Even so I'm not sure about safety in accessing the lenses in the bag. For films it's easier... I plan to use the half opened front-pocket which functions more or less like a Gnass pouch.
Any advice/tips/experience to share please?~~:)

Bob Gentile
2-Jul-2006, 05:56
This topic was discussed in a recent thread here. One of the most interesting ideas I saw was a little three-legged camping stool with a canvas "seat" used as a small portable table. Less than $20 from Walmart. Folds up into ito own pouch for easy carrying.

If you search for that thread, you'll find other good ideas, too.

Jeffrey Sipress
2-Jul-2006, 09:29