PDA

View Full Version : What Lens for This Look??

Scott Rosenberg
20-Jun-2006, 20:08
okay, so i recently took the attached shot of me and my wife, and after a bit of scanery and photoshopery i was able to achieve a look i'm really pleased with. the original was shot with a 210 APO-Sironar-S on Fuji Across, so bears little resemblence to the final product. i love the low contrast, the softness, and smooth, easy out of focus areas. is there a lens i can use that will yield a look similar to this right out of the box?

i know there are lots of old lenses like petzals and soft focus ones like veritars, and smooth ones like heliars, but with the exception of the last, i have little experience with the really old lenses.

any suggestions as to what i should start looking for?

thanks!
scott

David A. Goldfarb
20-Jun-2006, 21:22
Try a Heliar--21 to 30cm on 4x5". It has the most pronounced break between the in-focus subject and out-of-focus background and will give you the smooth transitions in the background.

An older Tessar might not be a bad choice.

A soft lens like a Verito or Veritar would give you more diffusion in the sharp area.

A Petzval would give you more of the "swirly" effect in the background.

Jim Galli
20-Jun-2006, 21:23
A 36cm Heliar on 8X10 (http://tonopahpictures.0catch.com/The1940FordPortraits.html) is pretty hard to beat. You'll have to wean yourself from such modern conveniences as shutters though.

Frank Petronio
20-Jun-2006, 21:40
Just shoot the modern Sironar wide open. While I haven't fooled with old lenses as much as the fellas above me have, the modern Sironars I've had always were pleasing at f/5.6 to f/8. Plus when they are wide open you get a perfectly round aperture for circular flare (not hexes).

I am also starting to believe that this bokeh stuff really is at least 50% contigent on amount and quality of the backlighting.

Ole Tjugen
20-Jun-2006, 23:02
That example looks more like a wide-open Plasmat than a Heliar.