PDA

View Full Version : Hello! You seem like nice people!

Barry F
14-Jun-2006, 14:41
Hi,

Just a few quick lines to say hello. I've been lurking for a while and having recently bought my first LF camera, a 5x4 De Vere monorail, thought I'd join the forum.

I'm a 53 yrs old cop, living in the NW of England, Bolton, and been seriously interested in photography since 1988 when I picked up my first SLR.

Since then I've progressed, and regressed (became too snap happy with the advent of digital cameras), and currently use 35mm film, D-SLR, 645 Bronica and, as above, the 5x4 (well I will be when I get my head round some guy called Scheimpflug ;) ).

I'll be using the 5x4 for architecture and landscape photography - works out much cheaper than a 35mm or 645 tilt/shift lens and far better quality.

As I retire from the police in 4 years time I recently enrolled on a 4 year part-time foundation degree course starting in September - more for self-esteem than anything else. This course was the main reason for getting the 5x4 - can't wait to get started with it.

Anyway enough from me. Nice to be here :)

Barry

Eric Biggerstaff
14-Jun-2006, 14:45
Welcome Barry, have fun!

Walter Calahan
14-Jun-2006, 15:16
Oh don't let our niceness fool you. Grin.

Welcome aboard.

www.walterpcalahan.com

Ralph Barker
14-Jun-2006, 15:27
Welcome, Barry.

Graeme Hird
14-Jun-2006, 16:00
Hi Barry.

We are nice people - mostly! Welcome aboard.

Graeme

darr
14-Jun-2006, 16:07
Welcome Barry! The folks here are an interesting and NICE batch if I may say so.

Frank Petronio
14-Jun-2006, 16:37
We even argue nicely...

Capocheny
14-Jun-2006, 16:50
Hello Barry,

Welcome to the club... yes, there are some really great people here. And, a few who like to argue too! :)

Cop??? I thought you policemen were called "bobbies" over there! :)

Great idea to enroll in a course... self-esteem or not. :) It's a smart move to get the correct foundations in place... especially in large format.