PDA

View Full Version : 40 x 50" LED prints from 8x10 scans on i900?

Jeremiah Dart
7-Oct-2005, 14:01
I've been shooting 8x10 for a few years now. I've recently graduated from the School of Visual Arts.
I no long have acess to an 8x10 enlarger, so I'm wondering if I can make digital C-prints with an
LED printer using scans from consumer scanners. I've been reading a lot about the Epson 4990 and the Mircrotek i900. Would it be
viable to print at the 40-50" range or the 50-60" with a scan that I get from these machines?

I've made some 20x24" prints with the LED from an old School Epson flat bed and they look just fine.

My main concerns are Newton Rings, shadow detail and of course image sharpness.

Should I even consider this route or should I toss the 8x10 and just start shooting 4x5 and go the Imacon way?

Thanks for the help,

- Jeremiah

Ed Burlew
7-Oct-2005, 15:47
Well that's one idea. I have been an 8x10 shooter for a few years and cosidered just that, then I saw the 30x40 prints of a person who did just that and frankly the definition was substantially less ina 30x40, so I can tel you that you will have disappointment in the 40x50. If you want to first shoot some 4x5 and use theat scaner and that printer, then comare it to the 8x10 direct print and you WILL see a difference. THe other point is that you will spend ALOT more Time in front of a computer screen thatn you do now. My self, I prefer to be shooting rather than beng infromnt of a computer. I would ather delegate the printing.

Bruce Watson
7-Oct-2005, 15:54
I've been reading a lot about the Epson 4990 and the Mircrotek i900. Would it be viable to print at the 40-50" range or the 50-60" with a scan that I get from these machines?

Would your print be "viable?" Well, sure. It would be a print.