PDA

View Full Version : 65mm or 75mm for 4x5?

Svante Johansson
17-Sep-2005, 13:11
I am quite new to large format photography, but my results are so encouraging that I decided to purchase a wide-angle lens for my Sinar F. In 135 I don’t go wider than 28mm, but I felt that with the 4x5 I could afford more cropping, and decided to go for a 75mm lens to be used mainly for landscape work.

I ordered a used top-class 75mm from a reputable dealer, and picked up a wide-angle bellows from another source. When the lens arrived it turned out that the dealer had made a mistake and I received a 65mm. I have been offered a credit for the lens, or the opportunity to exchange it for a 75mm of similar quality. The lens I got is in perfect condition, and I think both options for compensation are reasonable, but I can’t help wondering what to do. My questions to the more experienced wide-angle users on the forum are:

1. The image circle of the 65mm is 170mm while the 75mm has 195, meaning that the 65mm allows 10mm of rise while the 75mm allows 30mm. Is this a significant difference from a practical point of view? (With my 150mm Xenar I rarely use more than 2-3cm of rise.)

2. How many degrees of front tilt does the 65mm allow?

3. Is it possible to let the focus plane cover an object on the ground two meters away and tree-tops or mountains at infinity with the 65mm and front tilt? (Is it possible with the 75mm?)

4. I understand that back tilt does not “consume” the image circle in the same way as front tilt. Would it be possible to achieve the result asked for under 3. with back tilt?

5. I understand that light fall-off is more severe with the 65mm. Is the difference in this respect between the 65mm and 75mm so large that I could get away with not using a centre filter for the 75mm while the 65mm demanded one?

6. Are there any other factors that I should consider?

Ted Harris
17-Sep-2005, 13:21