PDA

View Full Version : Omega D2 for 35mm and 4x5 what is needed

Misty
27-Jul-2005, 11:02
Hi:) I am new to Omega D2 enlarger and the equipment needed to do both 4x5 and 35mm. I have the 6 1/2 condesner head/ housing ? for 4x5--to do 35mm do I need the appropriate condenser head or will the 6 1/2 condenser head/ housing ? work for the 35mm film enlarging also.

I guess what I am asking is what equipment/ accessories do I need to do enlargements with both 4x5 film and 35mm film on the Omega D2 enlarger (and it is not a variable condesner) . Thanks:)

Jerry Flynn
27-Jul-2005, 11:16
The answer depends upon the model. Other may have more information, but if it is a model DII (Roman numerals) there is no way that I know of to change condensers. If it is a D2V, there is a drawer that should have supplimentary condenser lens in it. You remove this lens for 4X5 or place it at the appropriate level for other formats as indicated on the inside of the door. The position is not indicated by film format, but by the focal length of the lens you are using.

There are lots of variations on Omega D's. Try Classic Enlargers on line as a source of information and parts.

Vick Vickery
27-Jul-2005, 11:32
At a minimum you will need a 35mm & 4x5 negative carriers, enlarging lenses on appropriate boards of somewhere in the range of 50mm (35mm negs) and 150 or longer (4x5 negs). On my old D2 I used a flat lensboard for the 50mm lens and a "top-hat" or extended board with a 210mm lens for 4x5 with good results. The standard condenser worked well for the full range of sizes. Of course, you will need a light timer and an easel of some type, too. These are good old enlargers.

Brian Schall
27-Jul-2005, 12:01
I have a DII and it is simple to replace the condensers. Loosen 3 thumbs screws remove one condenser set and replace with another, tighten screws back.