PDA

View Full Version : Need help with wet plate lens

Michael Raymond
2-Jul-2017, 13:52
Hello I am new to the forum and I purchased a Dallmeyer 15x12 Lens today at my local flea market, the glass appears to be clear, I do not have much information about it. I wanted to put it on my wet plate Camera. My camera is capable of 8 x 10. I am new to this, does anyone have any information about it? I know it uses water house stops, however I do not know if I can purchase them? Also, a lens cap? And possibly a screw on sun shield may be missing. Can I clean up the lens so it is shiny brass again? It says it was made in 1868. any Information would be helpful

Mark Sawyer
2-Jul-2017, 14:23
Welcome to the forum! Most likely what you have is a Dallmeyer Rapid Rectilinear, a design introduced by Dallmeyer in 1866. You can confirm this if it has any sign of cement separation around the edges of the rear element, (the rear element in a RR is a cemented doublet). It's a very nice English lens, though perhaps slightly dark for wet plate portraiture at f/6 or f/8. Or there's a more remote chance that it's a 5A or 5D Petzval.

Here's a link to an 1896 Dallmeyer catalog that lists their lenses:
http://www.thedallmeyerarchive.com/Records/catalogues/1896Dallmeyer%20Catalogue.pdf

With the serial number, you might find more detailed information about your lens here:

http://www.thedallmeyerarchive.com/index2.html

Steven Tribe
2-Jul-2017, 15:10
Another possibility is the Triple Achromat which was also engraved with the size it covered. 15x12" was a quite common format and these do appear quite often for both RRs and TAs.

Michael Raymond
2-Jul-2017, 15:15
Hello, thank you for the reply ! it is engraved Dallmeyer rapid rectilinear 1868