PDA

View Full Version : Some help with my very first darkroom?

Humbersetfoto
27-May-2017, 08:54
Hello, all! Im new here. I have been a photographer for a few years, a film photographer for about one year, and now im going to build my own darkroom.
I got hold of a complete color enlarger darkroom setup (everything from trays to paper), but i have a few questions:

1. The bulb in my Meopta Opemus 5 head made the head SO hot that i almost could not touch it on the outside after a few minutes of testing. Is that normal? It was a 12v 100w bulb which i broke so i have to replace, but not sure if im to buy the same?

2. Im my new darkroom i have a vent (typical 20x20cm) underneath the roof. This goes straight out in the open air. How do you keep air going out, but stop light from coming in?

3. I have a regular door into this darkroom. Is there any smart, easy, cheap options for lightproofing the door? Either velcro, zipper, maybe some black foam?

4. The head of my enlarger rotates 90 degrees to the side. Is it better to make the enlarger move (for instance on railings) or is it better to have the board where the paper will be taped able to move? I recon that many before me have done this and know of the easiest way?

5. I will probably use this darkroom a few months before i can get running water to this room. What is the best way to still be printing and making it easy? Big container of water?

Sorry for all the questions, but im hoping someone will take the time to answer. Have a nice day folks!

-Svein Olav from Norway, www.humbersetfoto.com-

xkaes
27-May-2017, 09:13
You've got a lot to do, for sure. You will get a lot of good, helpful advise on this board -- mostly in the form of opinions.