PDA

View Full Version : Buying new camera, advice appreciated

Lenrick
14-Jan-2017, 11:04
I've been using a Toyo 45CF for 10 years now. This is the only view-camera I have ever used or even fiddled with (due to lack of LF communities where I live in Sweden). The Toyo 45CF have served me well, but two things keeps annoying me:
1) lack of "rigidity"
2) lack of back movements

It will be very hard for me to get my hands on the cameras available on the market. Therefor I was hoping for some opinions from you guys to narrow the search.

What cameras do you you think fit these criteria:
1) foldable field 4x5" view-camera
2) feels rigid and things really stay in place when locked in
3) can be heavy and bulky (but the less the better of course)
4) it is not necessary with large, or special axis, movements but as lest some: front rise/fall, front tilt/swing and back tilt
5) fairly easy to find in good condition on eBay or similar
6) around or below 3000 $/€ or 2500 £

Any thoughts are highly appreciated.

Bob Salomon
14-Jan-2017, 11:06
Linhof Master Technika or Master Technika 2000 or 3000.

Alan Gales
14-Jan-2017, 11:44
To add to Bob's (top of the line) list you might also look at the metal Toyo's. Also look at Wista metal cameras. No front fall but a lot of front rise on the Wista's.

A lot of people who shoot wood Chamonix's claim they are really sturdy.

Pfsor
14-Jan-2017, 11:49

Correct me if I'm wrong - Master Technika 2000 or 3000 for below 3000$/Euro or 2500£ ???

Jac@stafford.net
14-Jan-2017, 11:50

Oi! Stop that, Bob! I'm on a hardware diet.
One more Linhof and I'm done. Just one more!

xkaes
14-Jan-2017, 12:28
You can't do better than a TOKO:

http://www.subclub.org/toko/

If you can find one!

locutus
14-Jan-2017, 13:37
I fear that you are now going to get every single 5x4 camera available recommended.......

Steven Tribe
14-Jan-2017, 13:48