PDA

View Full Version : Hello from smalltown Southern Georgia

morecfm
29-Nov-2016, 19:01
Hello, I'm new to large format. I took a photography class in high school many years ago and got hooked. Over the years, life and a growing family got in the way and my camera collected dust. So a few years ago I purchased a DSLR and sold my film gear. Later, I went to purchase an additional lens for my DSLR and the owner of the shop had a Bronica ETRS camera and I thought "wouldn't this be cool to use?" so I bought it and was hooked again. More medium format cameras later (TLR, Folders) I came across a Mamiya press camera bundled with an ancient Speed Graphic and Calumet monorail.

Now I was hooked on large format! I used the Speed Graphic but he monorail was too burdensome, for me, to lug around so I consigned that camera and acquired Horseman HF which I foresee getting a lot of use. I shoot mostly outdoors with my other cameras and this package will be used in the same way.

I look forward to perusing the forums here and reading up on various topics.

Two23
29-Nov-2016, 21:20
Nice start. You should be hitting 8x10 in about a year & half.:D

kent in SD

morecfm
29-Nov-2016, 22:13

kent in SD

This disease progresses?

Two23
29-Nov-2016, 22:19
This disease progresses?

:D:D:D

Kent in SD

Alan Gales
29-Nov-2016, 22:42
This disease progresses?

Yep! I started with 35mm and then digital, and medium format and then 4x5. I have an 8x10 now but I doubt I'll go larger. Still, 11x14 contact prints are pretty nice!

Welcome to the forum!

Leszek Vogt
30-Nov-2016, 00:58
Looks like Kent's cat picked up some of that too. Anyway, nice rig. Welcome to LF forum. Gees, haven't been to your neck of the woods (Okefenokee) and Folkston since....wow, that was 42yrs ago....when I ripped from Vegas to the Keys, NJ, PA and back....only 9100 miles in 30 days.

Les

Randy
1-Dec-2016, 11:22
Kent, I see you have the same problem I have...with cats and cameras...