PDA

View Full Version : Image circle too large?

mingliaozi
27-May-2016, 07:01
Hello guys and girls,

I am just getting started in large format photography, I bought and assembled my own "Bulldog" LFC and recently I bought a Fujion 180mm/5.6f lens of ebay (Image circle was 280phi according to seller). Could someone tell me, how many milimeters that is?

And most importantly, it seems that I have to move the lens very far away from the camera, before I get a sharp image (at infinity). This point is almost the outer limit of my forward extension. Now, is this a normal phenomenon? Is there a formula that, given a focal size and image circle, tells you which distances from the lens to the focusing screen make an object which is x meters away from the camera look sharp?

Thank you very much
Kind regards!

Jon Shiu
27-May-2016, 07:10
Focal length of 180mm indicates approximate distance from center of the lens to image plane at infinity focus. For closer objects, the distance would increase. For example at 1:1 close-up, distance between lens and ground glass would be about twice, ie 360mm.

Jon

Noah A
27-May-2016, 07:33
The lens focal length is what determines how far from the film your lens will be, not the image circle. As Jon said, the bellows extension when focused at infinity is very close to the lens focal length in MM. I don't know how much extension your camera offers, but you should have around 180mm of extension when focused at infinity.

If the distance is much longer than that, do you have a front and rear cell, one in front of the shutter and one behind the shutter and lens board? Some lenses will effectively give a longer focal length without the rear lens cell.

The image circle does not affect how much extension you need. The image circle is the size of the image that the lens projects onto the film plane. A larger image circle will allow you to use more camera or lens movements (rise and fall, etc.).