PDA

View Full Version : Drilling Glass

Jac@stafford.net
22-Apr-2016, 10:35
Recommendations for a supplier of quality drill bits for glass?

I'm re-purposing some old, large filters and would like to drill some holes in them. I practiced on some scrap glass using 'glass & ceramic' drill bits that wore out almost immediately. I used drilling lube (Mobil 1), with no improvement over some thick conventional lube.

The largest filters are .53" thick (and 8.5" diameter).

Thanks if you can help.
Jac

Peter De Smidt
22-Apr-2016, 10:54
What size holes?

Jac@stafford.net
22-Apr-2016, 11:12
What size holes?

oops! Yes, that is important. Largest hole 12.6mm (1/2" nominal), and 6.4mm (1/4" nominal).

Thanks for the nudge.

Peter De Smidt
22-Apr-2016, 11:32
I've some experience drilling holes in aquariums. For that, I used diamond bits. They were for bigger holes, but I don't see why smaller ones shouldn't also be ok. Here's a link to one: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000VR7E60/ref=pd_lpo_sbs_dp_ss_3?pf_rd_p=1944687502&pf_rd_s=lpo-top-stripe-1&pf_rd_t=201&pf_rd_i=B000VR7E6U&pf_rd_m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_r=135SHW320W4Y6ZCPDBWM

Drew Wiley
22-Apr-2016, 12:14
They're basically little hole saws with diamond grit attached. Use them with water as a lubricant and at a relatively low (slow) RPM. Take you time, and don't expect an exact hole diameter afterwards.

Jac@stafford.net
22-Apr-2016, 14:04
I've some experience drilling holes in aquariums. For that, I used diamond bits. They were for bigger holes, but I don't see why smaller ones shouldn't also be ok. Here's a link to one: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000VR7E60/ref=pd_lpo_sbs_dp_ss_3?pf_rd_p=1944687502&pf_rd_s=lpo-top-stripe-1&pf_rd_t=201&pf_rd_i=B000VR7E6U&pf_rd_m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_r=135SHW320W4Y6ZCPDBWM