PDA

View Full Version : Want to clean an Heliar

F64
20-Apr-2016, 10:06
Hello,
I bought an Heliar 1933/4 150mm in a Compur shutter and Bergheil bayonet. It is seems foggy and dirty in the internal part of the rear lens. Performance is not consistent with another 1950's Heliar I had.
Maybe cleaning it would make things better. I have little experience (Trioplan, Eurynar), and I am a bit wary. What am I to expect, if I remove the rear part? Would you advise trying it?
Thanks for helping

Jim Noel
20-Apr-2016, 12:19
No. Take it to someone who knows what they are doing.

F64
21-Apr-2016, 08:24
Thanks

Tim Deming
21-Apr-2016, 12:00
It should be easy to disassemble and reassemble if you want to clean it. If you have good materials ( cloth and solution) to do so, it's a very easy job, if not, then probably better not to do it. I've probably cleaned 100s of similar heliars

Peter De Smidt
21-Apr-2016, 12:02
Tim, what's your process for cleaning them?

F64
22-Apr-2016, 01:21
Yes, please.
I had no problem in disassembling into two parts: front and rear. The rear assembly seems easy to open, but luckily it was clean. The front assembly has no cuts for the wrench and I am a little wary of applying torque.

RSalles
23-Apr-2016, 09:16
Sacco,

You'll probably need a rubber grip with the size of the front ring to turn it. Some years ago I bought a set at ebay.

Cheers,

Renato

F64
23-Apr-2016, 13:03
@RSalles: thanks. I will take a look at it, but it's getting more involved that I expected.

Toyon
23-Apr-2016, 13:56
Could be that some of the problem is with the cement. That can't be cleaned.

mdarnton
23-Apr-2016, 16:07