PDA

View Full Version : Hack my roadmap towards 12x20 platinum/palladium contact prints (long)

feppe
13-Mar-2016, 14:58
I've been shooting 4x5" for a few years and enjoy it quite a bit, along with some 6x6 and lot of digital small formats. I develop the chromes myself (tediously) with a hand agitated Jobo tank which fits only six sheets - a typical shoot is 40-60 sheets so I develop for an entire day. I get them drum scanned, and print digitally. I'm also getting increasingly worried about the rug being pulled from underneath by the possibility of discontinuation of LF Provia (RIP Astia).

For years I've had a dream of starting to shoot 12x20" some day to do contact prints to skip the drum scanning and Photoshop. Mainly landscapes, possibly nudes in the studio; but not sure if Calumet in Amsterdam has enough lights for that :P

I recently attended a cyanotype workshop, and was shocked at how straightforward the process was. And was hooked. Did some research, and platinum/palladium seems like a similar process, and the tones are more appealing to me. To learn the process and to see if it really is for me, I'd like to test the waters before dropping a few thousand euros on a 12x20 system.

I consider 4x5 too small for contact prints, so 8x10 would be a good step up towards 12x20. I found this nice-looking pinhole camera (http://www.ebay.nl/itm/8x10-LARGE-FORMAT-PINHOLE-CAMERA-LENS-0-25-F-LENGTH-125mm-F-Stop-500-104-DEGREES-/181450179222?hash=item2a3f460296:g:3TkAAOxyD9JR9n1k) made by a guy in Greece which is very reasonably priced. This should be a good way to get into developing 8x10, and doing contact prints.

So, the plan is:

Buy a 8x10" pinhole camera €
Buy developing system for 8x10" €€
Buy chemicals and UV lamp for contact pt/pd prints €
If it's for me, start acquiring parts for a 12x20" system €€€€€€