PDA

View Full Version : Looking For Kit To Build Own Wooden 4x5

pnphoto
3-Mar-2016, 20:59
Does anyone know of hardware kits I could buy so I can make my own 4x5 wooden field camera? I am wanting to build a camera something like a Deardorff, Tachihara or Zone VI. I'm a woodworker with no skills machining metal. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks, Patrick

Tim Meisburger
3-Mar-2016, 21:10
Nobody makes such a kit. If we could find somebody that would, that would be great!

DKirk
4-Mar-2016, 01:21
It is MDF, however you could use the hardware, and pattern the wood on the MDF as a template - http://shop.pinholesolutions.co.uk/products/251264--the-bulldog-5x4-or-10x8-self-assembly-camera-kit.aspx

pnphoto
4-Mar-2016, 08:22
Thanks for the link. I checked it out. Unfortunately photo on their website don't enlarge for me to really check it out. Looks like limited movements…. Any experience with this kit?
I thought about buying an old camera and remaking it, but the hardware usually is a beat up as the wood is. Maybe I'll get lucky one day on ebay!

Len Middleton
4-Mar-2016, 10:56
Patrick,

Welcome to the community...

Have you looked at: http://www.bulldogcameras.com/index.html

Hope that helps,

Len

BTW, Canadians are well represented in this community.

koh303
4-Mar-2016, 11:14
Bullgods kits are not quite the same as any of the cameras you mentioned in your OP, but they do work.

barnacle
4-Mar-2016, 11:17
Patrick,

Take a look at my Sapele camera thread. As a woodworker, you'll be able to do the woodworkery bits a lot better than I did, and there is nothing in the metalwork that needs (so far) more than a drill and files (though a mill saves some work!)

It's not quite finished yet, but I'm hoping to get pictures out of it before the end of next week...

Neil

pnphoto
4-Mar-2016, 12:24
Hey Len,

Thanks, it's nice to be part of the community. I have often ended up on the Forum via Google searches, but never put the time into signing up.