PDA

View Full Version : Anyone ever apply for a Gugenheim or Siskind Fellowship?

invisibleflash
7-Jan-2016, 14:18
How did it go for you?

bob carnie
7-Jan-2016, 15:26
I would be interested in hearing about this and actually understanding how this is approached.

Jim Fitzgerald
7-Jan-2016, 15:28
I know that Mark Woods applied. I was asked to write something on his behalf. PM him.

Andrew O'Neill
7-Jan-2016, 16:15
Bob, have you ever looked in grants through the Canada Council for The Arts?

bob carnie
8-Jan-2016, 06:42
As a small business owner I never felt I that I fit the criteria.

I am now thinking as I am working on some significant projects there may be some merit in seeing what is available for
me to look into.

I do get lots of clients with grants, from the Canada Council.

Bob, have you ever looked in grants through the Canada Council for The Arts?

Corran
8-Jan-2016, 07:50
A friend of mine received a Guggenheim in photography. I was actually meaning to ask him about that soon.

Kirk Gittings
8-Jan-2016, 10:34
A friend of mine received a Guggenheim in photography. I was actually meaning to ask him about that soon.

I know a few and have never asked. I do know that it is extremely competitive.

I've had many grants including a large NEA grant, one from the Getty and Humanities council etc. The ones I applied for are a ton of work. These days for me I am of the opinion the time it would take to apply for a grant is better spent doing commercial or artwork and a lot higher chance of success. The one grant I really would appreciate is a MacArthur, but that one comes out of the blue-you don't apply for it-other people do and you don't hear about it until you get the call. My sister-in-law got one.

invisibleflash
8-Jan-2016, 12:03
I know a few and have never asked. I do know that it is extremely competitive.