PDA

View Full Version : Are they called extension rails?

Ellen Stoune Duralia
6-Mar-2005, 07:48
Hi all! I have some questions about getting more extension out of my Horseman LE. I currently have what I guess is the standard 400mm rail. Is it possible to get an extension piece for it? For the purpose of searching, what are those called exactly? Extension rails? Or I have also seen 560mm rails. Is it better to get a longer rail all in one piece or what? Also, my rail is missing the end caps. Is there a cheap DIY solution or do I have to buy the actual Horseman end caps? I've seen them at B&H but jeez, I hate to spend $25 for something like that. Any ideas?

Thanks in advance for the help, ya'll :-)

p.s. A side question: my current back doesn't rotate. As I am unfamiliar with the various backs available, I'm wondering what exactly I would need to get in order to get that versatility. Please be specific 'cause I'm a newbie at this. Thanks again!

Gem Singer
6-Mar-2005, 08:54
Hi Ellen,

I searched the Calumet website, and they don't list extension pieces for the Horseman LE rails, nor any longer rails for that camera. If you were to use a longer rail, it seems to me that you would also need a longer bellows. Either way, you would probably be getting into a large expense. You didn't mention the reason for your need for a longer extension. I'm assuming it is to do close-up photography.

Keeping that in mind, the LE has a maximum extension of 410mm. That means that the longest lens you can use for 1:1 close-ups is a lens with a focal length in the range of 180-200mm. However, there are other ways to obtain longer extension without stretching the bellows to it's limit.