PDA

View Full Version : Importance of traditional/film photography in our Colleges and Universities

ShannonG
14-Dec-2015, 16:15
So here is a big subject..I have been on (for several years now) the advisory comity for the professional photography program of Hawkeye Comm. College here in Iowa.back in the day we were #3 on the list of best photographic schools in the country. not there anymore but still in the top 10.When i graduated 25 years ago there was a small computer lab,a few digatol cameras a very extensive lab and collection of film cameras to check out (like 150 hasselblads,lights and large format cameras 4X5 to 16X20)The darkroom labs were filled up all semesters with a 3 year waiting list to get into the program.Ive been lecturing and substitute teaching a bit at the school lately. Sad to see that the darkrooms are only available for 1 semester but the didgatol labs are filled with zombies staring at a monitor.No one talking to each other or collaborating.the hallways are ,,just that just a hallway ,,instead of a place to talk about your photography while your print is in the wash.
The darkrooms are being used less and less,but still alive,,(barely).Its my personal mission on the advisory comity to keep these labs rollin and even offer them more than we do now. As a working commercial photographer i very much understand the importance of the use of all media, but i do know that traditional work is beneficial to this "new"industry. one must know ware we came from in order to know ware we wanna go......just wandering your thoughts on this subject.

Jac@stafford.net
14-Dec-2015, 16:31
The darkrooms are being used less and less,but still alive,,(barely).Its my personal mission on the advisory comity to keep these labs rollin