PDA

View Full Version : 135MM Lens, But Which One?

Jeff Morfit
10-Dec-2015, 06:05
Trying to decide which lens is the better of the two, a Rodenstock-Sirnor 135mm, or the Nikkor-W 135mm. Both sound like good lenses, so little time to decide, so many choices.

Bob Salomon
10-Dec-2015, 06:26
Sironar, Sironar-N, Apo Sironar-N or Apo Sironar-S?

Jeff Morfit
10-Dec-2015, 07:15
Oopsie, make that a Sirnor-N model 135mm.

Steve Goldstein
10-Dec-2015, 08:09
The Nikkor-W and Sironar-N (or Apo Sironar-N) are essentially the same weight and both list a 200mm image circle at f/22. The Rodenstock takes 40.5mm filters, the Nikkor 52mm; step-up rings are cheap. My Rodenstock is plenty sharp. I have no personal experience with the 135mm Nikkor-W but other Nikkor LF lenses I own are fine performers.

Kevin Crisp
10-Dec-2015, 09:12
I have no personal experience with it, but there are a number of threads where people say their 135 Nikkor is disappointing compared to other Nikkor LF lenses. All of my Nikkors in different focal lengths have been fine.

BradS
10-Dec-2015, 10:27
Trying to decide which lens is the better of the two, a Rodenstock-Sirnor 135mm, or the Nikkor-W 135mm. Both sound like good lenses, so little time to decide, so many choices.

I've had both of these....in fact in the 135mm focal length, I've had the following: Sironar-N, Sironar-S, (several) Fujinon-W, Nikkor-W, Xenar...oh, and a handful of 135mm Optar.

I love the 135mm focal length on 4x5. It just seems "right".

The 135mm Sironar-S is, hands down, the best of them. I sold mine because it was "too precious". I rarely took it out of the house because I was always afraid something "bad" would happen to it. Sold the Nikkor-W for the same reason...the one I had was "new in box".