PDA

View Full Version : Scanning 5x7 negs, Epson 10000XL

Michael Lloyd
1-Aug-2015, 11:36
I made some test negs with Ilford FP4+ today. I was testing lenses more than the film. I have a Sinar Norma in 5x7 and since I had never used that format I wanted to see what 75mm, 90mm, 150mm, and 350mm looked like (I'm still learning large format photography). I couldn't get 75mm to focus so I only tested 3 lenses. 4 sheets since I'm a complete dumbass and pulled the rear dark slide when I was shooting negative #2 :mad: I guess it's good that I at least caught it and only ruined one sheet. Sort of... Other than that everything went well.

I have bag bellows for my F2 (4x5) but not for the Norma. However, I don't think I'll miss the 75mm lens too bad . The 90mm lens is WIDE on the 5x7 :)

Anyway... now that the negs are out of the soup and drying I realize that I don't have a holder for 5x7 negs. All I have are the Epson 4x5 holders that came with the scanner. Any ideas for how to scan a 5x7 neg on an Epson scanner? If anyone wants to ship a drum scanner in like new condition to me for free I'll PM my address to you :cool:

Oren Grad
1-Aug-2015, 11:47
Directly on the glass. Page 50 of the instruction manual:

https://files.support.epson.com/pdf/ex10kg/ex10kgu1.pdf

Michael Lloyd
1-Aug-2015, 11:49
Very good. Thank you. I don't think I had the instruction manual. If I did it's long since gone... Thanks for the link!

djdister
1-Aug-2015, 12:08
I recommend making a 5x7 neg holder out of two pieces of mat board - it works very nicely for me on an Epson V750. No chance of Newton rings that way...

Oren Grad
1-Aug-2015, 12:19
As far as Newton's rings, FP4 Plus should be fine with the emulsion side down on the glass. Yes, the manual says emulsion-side up. Anyway, try directly on the glass, emulsion-side down, first. If that works OK you're all set.

Michael Lloyd
1-Aug-2015, 12:31