PDA

View Full Version : Question about Sinar Shutters and ULF lenses



ndevlin
19-Jul-2015, 09:46
Hi all,

I'm looking at the viability of various ULF lens combos, and see plenty of 600mm+ process lenses but no obvious source of shutters for them. The Sinar shutters seem to be around on ebay. Are these usable with lenses like the 610mm f9 Nikkor? How does one tell if a process lens will work in the Sinar? and what's involved in mounting it-up?

Thanks so much in advance.

Cheers,

- Nick.

Will Whitaker
19-Jul-2015, 10:01
Nick - What would keep it from working is the size of the exit pupil of your particular lens. For a 610mm, f/9, you're probably OK, but I can't tell without looking at the actual lens and the shutter. You'll need to do that. The other issue is finding a way to mount the shutter to your camera. The Sinar shutter was designed specifically to fit a Sinar camera between the bellows and the front standard, so it's probably going to take some creativity for that to work with your given camera. I've done it with an 8x10, but I can assure you it was both challenging and expensive.

At the end of the day, for ULF you're probably better off just using a Packard shutter or a lens cap. So much depends on your specific shooting setup. Lens speed, extension, film speed, lighting, desired depth of field all contribute toward making the required exposure longer. And the longer the exposure, the less you need a timed shutter. If you're shooting paper negatives or wet plate, having a timed shutter serves no purpose. I think the trick with ULF and with photography in general is to Keep It Simple....
There is a beauty to simplicity. And for me, that is one of the draws to ULF.

Randy Moe
19-Jul-2015, 10:22
I have that lens and just measured the rear glass at 67mm, round up to 70mm.

I use Packard shutters behind it. Since the shutter is outside the lens, I allow for the cone of light and use at least a 3" Packard, the smaller the Packard the better it works. imho. Also cheaper.

ndevlin
19-Jul-2015, 13:30
I totally get the "KISS" dimension of this. My 'issue' is wanting the camera for a portrait project. That means flash-sync. Going barrel-only would be so much easier...

Randy Moe
19-Jul-2015, 13:46
I totally get the "KISS" dimension of this. My 'issue' is wanting the camera for a portrait project. That means flash-sync. Going barrel-only would be so much easier...

I add a microswitch for sync to all my Packards. More reliable than some other methods.

I buy the microswitches for 75 cents each. Look me up in DIY here on this forum. I would have to search for myself, myself. You may do it.

It's real easy.

Peter De Smidt
19-Jul-2015, 17:00
The Sinar shutter, the older one, at least, has an opening of 3.5". Mine works fine with a 600 APO Nikkor.

Randy Moe
19-Jul-2015, 18:49
The Sinar shutter, the older one, at least, has an opening of 3.5". Mine works fine with a 600 APO Nikkor.

That's good to know. I have never touched one.

TML74
20-Jul-2015, 01:30
Using a sinar shutter for ULF lens is easy and just need some machining work so that you can screw the lens in the sinar shutter.
You can also make a wood piece to mount the sinar shutter to the camera.
I have done this for several lens: 240 graphic kowa, 610 RD artar, several ektanon copying lens, and even an apo ronar CL 1070 mm. I can mount the lens either on the sinar camera, on the 12x20 camera, 20x24, 7x17 (except for the ronar... not enough bellow). Very useful in fact.

thierry M.L.

StoneNYC
20-Jul-2015, 07:41
Can anyone post a picture of the shutter?

It would really help I think to see one, maybe mounted and unmounted?

Peter De Smidt
20-Jul-2015, 07:49
http://i955.photobucket.com/albums/ae37/peterdesmidt/Sinar_Shutter_Plate_zpsjncltfoh.jpg (http://s955.photobucket.com/user/peterdesmidt/media/Sinar_Shutter_Plate_zpsjncltfoh.jpg.html)
http://i955.photobucket.com/albums/ae37/peterdesmidt/Sinar_Shutter_Plate_2_zpsapanrg7l.jpg (http://s955.photobucket.com/user/peterdesmidt/media/Sinar_Shutter_Plate_2_zpsapanrg7l.jpg.html)
http://i955.photobucket.com/albums/ae37/peterdesmidt/Side_zpstxniufe5.jpg (http://s955.photobucket.com/user/peterdesmidt/media/Side_zpstxniufe5.jpg.html)

Peter De Smidt
20-Jul-2015, 07:49
http://i955.photobucket.com/albums/ae37/peterdesmidt/sinar_shutter_45_zpsxof9rx3a.jpg (http://s955.photobucket.com/user/peterdesmidt/media/sinar_shutter_45_zpsxof9rx3a.jpg.html)
http://i955.photobucket.com/albums/ae37/peterdesmidt/Sinar_Shutter_Lens_45_zpshrqylebc.jpg (http://s955.photobucket.com/user/peterdesmidt/media/Sinar_Shutter_Lens_45_zpshrqylebc.jpg.html)

StoneNYC
20-Jul-2015, 08:18
http://i955.photobucket.com/albums/ae37/peterdesmidt/Sinar_Shutter_Plate_zpsjncltfoh.jpg (http://s955.photobucket.com/user/peterdesmidt/media/Sinar_Shutter_Plate_zpsjncltfoh.jpg.html)
http://i955.photobucket.com/albums/ae37/peterdesmidt/Sinar_Shutter_Plate_2_zpsapanrg7l.jpg (http://s955.photobucket.com/user/peterdesmidt/media/Sinar_Shutter_Plate_2_zpsapanrg7l.jpg.html)
http://i955.photobucket.com/albums/ae37/peterdesmidt/Side_zpstxniufe5.jpg (http://s955.photobucket.com/user/peterdesmidt/media/Side_zpstxniufe5.jpg.html)

Oh wow thank you!!! Yea I definitely need one! Lol

Do they come in different sizes or just one size hole?

Randy Moe
20-Jul-2015, 09:53
Thanks for posting that Peter!

Now I see I can use a Sinar shutter on most of my cameras, as I already have installed Horseman frames to many old cameras.

I did that for lens board consolidation, as I can use Linhof, Deardorff, C1 boards and more with adapter to Sinar/Horseman. I have documented this before in DIY.

I kinda knew Sinar shutter was an option, but they are not cheap and they do have known issues.

I will continue using Packard shutters.

Peter De Smidt
20-Jul-2015, 10:34
Yeah, there's nothing wrong with a Packard shutter in good condition for studio use. The main issue is finding the larger ones in good condition. Buying one new makes a used Sinar shutter look cheap. The Sinar is nice for timed exposures, as there's a good range of consistent speeds available, but if you're using strobes, that's not a big advantage.

Ken Lee
20-Jul-2015, 15:08
You might find these articles helpful. They show the use of a 610mm APO Nikkor on a Sinar camera using the Sinar Copal Shutter.

http://www.kenleegallery.com/html/aponikkor610/index.php

http://www.kenleegallery.com/html/aponikkor610/Nikkor610Test.php

Randy Moe
20-Jul-2015, 15:19
Your site was my inspiration Ken.

A great source of useful knowledge.

I had to get that lens...