PDA

View Full Version : New to the forum

Victor2
20-Jun-2015, 11:34
Hello from the East Coast. I've been a casual photographer over the years. Started using digital, progressed over time to better "bridge" cameras, and recently got my first DSLR to accompany me while hiking. I used to focus on putting in the miles while hiking, but now the emphasis has shifted to where my objective is photographing what I'm seeing, more than going for distance. The DSLR and a nice telephoto helps me to get wildlife photos I like, but wide angle with the DSLR doesn't seem to do justice to the nice trees and forest scenery. The threads I'm seeing here on trees, and landscape, illustrate what I'd like to be able to capture with the landscape around me here in Virginia.

So I'm reading up and learning a lot from the forum about how to do just that.

Victor

John Kasaian
20-Jun-2015, 11:51
Welcome, Victor2

Old_Dick
20-Jun-2015, 12:03
Prepare to be amazed. Great group of smart and talented people. Welcome Victor.

Alan Gales
20-Jun-2015, 13:40
Welcome to the forum Victor2.

Digital is fun but you will soon find out that shooting large format film is just special!

Peter De Smidt
20-Jun-2015, 13:59
Welcome!

Pali K
20-Jun-2015, 14:27
Welcome Victor2. Where in Virginia are you located?

Pali

Victor2
20-Jun-2015, 14:41
Thanks everyone for the welcome. I'm in Sterling, in Northern Virginia.

Tim Meisburger
20-Jun-2015, 16:48
Great Falls Park should be nice. I used to climb there a lot in the eighties, and when I visit DC this summer plan to go out there for a day.

welcome to the forum, from an old virginie boy!

Pali K
20-Jun-2015, 17:49
Victor you are very close to me. I am in MoCo MD.

Tim, have you ever hiked around the great falls with 8x10 setup? I ask because I am going to brave it soon but I have hiked the MD side many times without any LF gear and it is scary enough without it. It would nice to hear others experience around the area.

Regards,

Pali

Tim Meisburger