PDA

View Full Version : Long Exposure - Very Different Results Between Digital and 4x5 Film

secondhandrobot
19-Jun-2015, 09:15
Hi All - Newbie here.

I have a question I thought some of you might be able to help me with.

I am trying to do some still life shots in very low directional light. In other words lighting the subject only, say an apple or a shell or something.

I did some test shots on my Nikon digital camera at f 29 @ 120 seconds @ 100 ISO. Shots came out well lit, could see what the object was and even the background was well lit and clear.

I then tried to translate those settings to my new Toyo 45A which I currently have loaded with Fomapan 100. After reading about Fomapan 100 I am using it as ISO 80.

So my translated settings (using my handy android ev pairs app) for f 32 came to:

f 32 @ 3.2 minutes = 3.12 minutes @ ISO 80

After developing the shot, for example of the shell, the film was almost totally clear. I could just see a few details from the lines of the shell. In other words very very underexposed.

So the question is why is there so much difference between the digital and film results?

And how can I accurately determine long exposure shots when using my Toyo / Fomapan 100 if I cannot simply translate the settings from my digital camera meter?

I guess its worth pointing out that on faster shots in well lit situations the results are fine and I can meter with my digital without the vast difference in results.

Thanks

StoneNYC
19-Jun-2015, 09:19
Sounds like you're not accounting for "reciprocity failure" which of all films fomapan is the WORST, if you want a good film, Fuji Acros100 has the best reciprocity for long exposures, no adjustments need to be made up to 2 minutes.

In contrast Foma needs adjustment after 1/2 second.

This will be abstract until you read up on reciprocity failure with film. Google and read and you'll hopefully have your answer. Welcome to the fold and don't give up!

secondhandrobot
19-Jun-2015, 09:24