PDA

View Full Version : Camera movements and sharpness

Draganski
22-Apr-2015, 13:03
I am new to LF photography and have just started using camera movements.

My question is: does sharpness decrease a lot if i use a lot of rise? I know that there can be problems with vignetting, and i check all four corners of the ground glass to ensure good coverage. my impression is that the sharpness is reduced when i use maximum rise.
I use a fujinon 150w lens on a chamonix 045-n1. The lens covers the maximum front rise of the camera as far as i can tell.

I have ordered betterscanning scan holders, and i will attach the camera bag to the tripod to ensure more stability, just to rule out some of the factors that come to my mind.

Also i got some skewed negatives, obviously the film was moving in the fidelity holders during transport, is that also a factor for sharpness?
Thanks, dragan

Preston
22-Apr-2015, 14:09
Dragan,

Sharpness should not be affected by using front rise. With the Chamonix, you have to be careful when using front rise so that you don't unintentionally add some lens tilt. After doing your rise, be sure to check that the amount of tilt has not changed.

Is the perceived lack of sharpness the same across the entire negative, or is it localized. Without that info, we'd be shooting in the dark.

--P

vinny
22-Apr-2015, 14:46
Maximum rise with that camera and that lens is putting the image circle to the test. Yes, sharpness will be decreased because nearly all optics are sharpest at the center. Just because you don't see vignetting, doesn't mean you've used too much movement. In most cases stopping down increases coverage so using lots of rise at a large aperture like f11 won't yield great results compared to f32.

fishbulb
22-Apr-2015, 16:24