PDA

View Full Version : Software for Screen CÚzanne Elite FT-S5500



EOTS
16-Mar-2015, 13:00
Hi,

I have the chance to pick up a Screen CÚzanne Elite FT-S5500 in good condition from a printing company,
but unfortunately they've lost the software along with the computer.

Is this a lost cause? Any ideas what I could do?

Best regards and thanks,
Martin

Corran
16-Mar-2015, 13:14
Does the 5500 take the same software as the 5000?

Lucky you, I paid a lot for my older Cezanne.

fishbulb
16-Mar-2015, 13:14
Unfortunately, ScreenUSA scanners are not supported by Silverfast or Vuescan, so you will have to find someone selling a copy of Screen's ColorGenius software, and probably an old Mac to run it on. You can still buy the software new from ScreenUSA (http://www.screenusa.com/) but it isn't cheap - Over $1000 USD from what I've seen.

If I were you, I would go back to that printing company and do everything I could to track down the computer and the software. Otherwise, maybe post a "want ad" on the appropriate forums online and the Yahoo Group "High-End Scanning" .

Peter De Smidt
16-Mar-2015, 17:24
The software for the FS-5000 (Cezanne) and FS-5500 (Cezanne Elite) are not interchangeable. If I were you, I'd try to find a friendly person with Color Genius V2.x for the FS-5500. I only know people with the regular Cezanne.

EOTS
17-Mar-2015, 00:28
Thanks guys!

Hope I'll find a solution.
Seems that for color neg scanning, the Cezanne gets away with quite clean but hi-rez files.
Would love to rescan my bad Portra 400 scans.

Best regards,
Martin

EOTS
17-Mar-2015, 08:50
Hi Peter!


If I were you, I'd try to find a friendly person with Color Genius V2.x for the FS-5500.

I hope so!

Do you know if the software needs a serial?
AFAIK, it's "abandonware" anyway, as Screen does no longer support these scanners and it doesn't even seem possible to buy the software.
When a guy in the German LF forum was calling Screen's support hotline about availability, they even suggested/recommended copying it from a friendly user.

Best regards,
Martin

robpayne
20-Apr-2015, 14:56
Thanks guys!

Hope I'll find a solution.
Seems that for color neg scanning, the Cezanne gets away with quite clean but hi-rez files.
Would love to rescan my bad Portra 400 scans.

Best regards,
Martin

Hi EOTS,

So did you ever manage to get a copy of the CG2?

If so how and what was the cost?

Thanks,
Rob

coisasdavida
29-Apr-2016, 06:00
Trying to help a friend in Portugal with the same problem, anyone find a solution?

Blasted
2-Jul-2016, 07:22
I have a copy of ColorGenius 2 version 2.1.1 which is easily updated to version 2.1.3. I'm currently running it on OS X 10.4.11

I'm sure I would be able to assist for a token gesture.

coisasdavida
3-Jul-2016, 03:57
I have a copy of ColorGenius 2 version 2.1.1 which is easily updated to version 2.1.3. I'm currently running it on OS X 10.4.11

I'm sure I would be able to assist for a token gesture.

Sent a PM in lieu for Marco.

knipser2
27-Jul-2016, 02:02
Hi,
after working many years on the regular Cezanne, now I had the chance to pick up the Elite version of this great scanner. It seems to work, but I cannot test it. Unfortunely the ColorGenius 1.0.4 software of my FT-S5000 don't work on the Elite and the print shop didn't find the old computer or the CDs for the scanner.
I hope somebody with the FT-S5500 can help me out with o copy for a token gesture.
Best regards
Ahmed

knipser2
10-Aug-2016, 03:35
Hi, thank you for the great support! I got the Elite to work fine and look forward to make a few tests to look for differences between the two scanners.
Best, Ahmed

Blasted
10-Aug-2016, 05:19
Hi, thank you for the great support! I got the Elite to work fine and look forward to make a few tests to look for differences between the two scanners.
Best, Ahmed

No problem, look forward to seeing your findings.