PDA

View Full Version : Colour LF photography in Australia too costly!!

Gary Tarbert
13-Mar-2015, 07:47
Hi , I am not sure if i am in the right area , Moderators move me. But as i looked through this looked like the right one , I have been shooting LF since 2005 and a member of this forum since 2006 .I have sold all my LF cameras , Reason i shoot mainly colour (spelt right)and the cost of processing in Australia has become cost prohibitive I am paying as long as i give 10 at a time $10 a sheet for 5x4 and that was even back when our dollar was worth more than the greenback. $15 for 5x8 and $20 for 8x10 again as long as 10 at a time if singles 12.50 5x4 $20 5x8 and $25 8x10 ,My lab was really good and she is a film shooter as well , but i have to admit a $300 bill for 20 shots(5x8 my favourite format) is becoming hard to explain to my wife , I do not have the capacity to process colour at home only5% of my work is B&W so it is much regret that i say i am no longer shooting LF .if i enjoyed USA pricing i would be here for a bit longer Which is correct me if i'm wrong from about $2.50 5x4 colour . . Cheers

MDR
13-Mar-2015, 07:51
Ever heard of home processing. Color processing is not really more difficult than B/W processing and the chemicals are cheaper. Give it a try or you better you should have given it a try.

cluttered
13-Mar-2015, 16:47
I agree with Gary; colour LF *is* expensive if you have it done in a lab here in Australia. Maybe it's the same in other countries too?

I'm still looking for a decent Jobo system at a sane price, and if I manage to achieve that I'll start doing LF colour at home, but for now I'm using colour only in the smaller formats, all my LF work is B&W only.

Jac@stafford.net
13-Mar-2015, 17:33
Ever heard of home processing. Color processing is not really more difficult than B/W processing and the chemicals are cheaper. Give it a try or you better you should have given it a try.